California Law Bans Hand-Held Cell Phones While Driving
By KXJZ's Steve Shadley
Police will be out in full numbers enforcing a new cell phone law that starts July first.
Thursday, June 26, 2008
You can drive while using a hand held cell phones for a few more days before a new law probits the practice in California. But, teenagers are warned they won’t be allowed to use any type of cell phone—including text messaging while behind the wheel.
Starting next month…anyone over 18 years old must use a headset cell phone while driving. But, younger drivers…16 and 17 year olds…will have to pull off the road and park before they can make a call or send a text.
State Schools Superinentent Jack O’Connell says the youngest drivers will be held to a different standard under the new law…
“The law has serious consequences…the fines increase…his will be on your driving record…and so we want to make sure our young people are prepared…”
The first ticket is 20 dollars…after that…50-dollars. 18-year-old Sara Kewin just got her driver’s permit. She’s okay with the new law…
“You look at you cell phone while driving and you get distracted…so I don’t think its particularly unfair…”
The California Highway Patrol says there will not be a grace period. Officers will start giving out tickets for adults and teenagers on July first.